Click on a work for details, including purchasing information. The Categories and Media links below may be used to display only works of a given type. ("Media" refers to the availability of an audio or video excerpt.) To see the compositions in list form, click View as List. For a complete list, including performances, download C.V.

Follow us...

Subscribe to our mailing list...


Heartland Horizon

Heartland Horizon
for violin, viola and cello

Duration: 12'

Instrumentation: violin, viola,c ello

"Heartland Horizon" was written after a visit to Poland in 1987. The composer has provided the following notes, written after the fall of the Berlin wall.

In 1987, Poland, sometimes called "the heartland of Europe", seemed a country of discontents. A government ostensibly designed to create a classless society had in effect created a privileged class of beaurocrats. With recent events giving the Polish people a new life, it remains to be seen what is on the horizon; whether, along with the best of Western democracy, they will embrace the worst of Western materialism or find a more humane path.

Heartland Horizon is actually a sextet written for three stringed instruments, each playing two complete contrapuntal parts. The piece suggests elements of Yiddish folk music.

To order a score and parts contact Terra Non Firma Press