Click on a work for details, including purchasing information. The Categories and Media links below may be used to display only works of a given type. ("Media" refers to the availability of an audio or video excerpt.) To see the compositions in list form, click View as List. For a complete list, including performances, download C.V.

Follow us...

Subscribe to our mailing list...


Three Musicians

Excerpt of a live performance; Constance Whitman, viola; David A. Jaffe, guitar

Three Musicians
(after the Picasso paintings)

for viola and guitar

Duration: 11'

"Three Musicians (after the Picasso paintings)" was inspired by the two paintings by that name, one hanging in the Museum of Modern Art in New York and the other in the Philadelphia Museum of Art. One of these paintings includes a dog.

The piece is in five movements, each incorporating elements of a particular style of American folk music, although these styles are often abstracted to a bizarre extent. The styles are: old-time fiddle style, blues, bluegrass style, jazz and country music style. The movements are entitled:

    1. Fanfare for the First Musician
    2. Philadelphia Version (with Dog)
    3. Fanfare for the Second Musician
    4. New York Version (without Dog)
    5. Fanfare for the Third Musician and Dog

To order a score and parts contact Terra Non Firma Press


Live performance of the first movement, performed by Duo Verdejo, Meghan Verdejo, viola and Adrian Verdejo, guitar. October 9, 2009 at St. Philips Anglican Church in Vancouver, Canada.